Check out the new designation! Who wants a martini?
Thanks to Distillery No. 209 in San Francisco, at least one brand of gin is now kosher for Passover (and all year round). Because anything made from/containing traditional grains (wheat, barley, rye) are off-limites during Passover, so are most spirits. However, using neutral spirits (i.e. sugar cane a la rum), No. 209 is being produced under the close supervision of the Orthodox Union and will now be emblazoned with the Kosher for Passover symbol.
The Seder Sour
Created by Jordan Mackay
"In addition to being kosher for Passover, this cocktail incorporates several of the flavors and symbols of the seder meal."
1½ oz. Distillery No. 209 kosher gin
½ oz. warmed honey
Dash of horseradish (many canned horseradishes contain cream and corn syrup, so make sure to get a kosher-for-Passover version, or simply buy a whole root and grate no more than 1/8 tsp.)
1 oz. freshly squeezed lemon juice
Pinch of kosher salt
Parsley, for garnish
Combine the gin, honey, horseradish, lemon juice, and salt in a cocktail shaker. Either shake or stir the contents without ice to make sure the honey dissolves. Add crushed ice, then cover and shake vigorously for 15 seconds. Strain into a glass, top with soda water, and garnish with a sprig of parsley.
So, will that be shaken or stirred?